About Us

The Department of Medical Physiology, part of the School of Medicine, College of Health Sciences is located at the College of Biological and Physical Science Chiromo Campus, off Riverside Drive.  The building funded by the Rockfellar Foundation was opened by the First President of Kenya, Mzee Jomo Kenyatta on 4th March 1964. 

The Department offers programs in BSc (Intercalated) Honours, MSc and PhD in Medical Physiology. Also teaches medcial physiology to undergraduate and graduate students in Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy, Nursing, Medical Laboratory Science & Technology, Food Nutrition & Dietetics.

The main areas of research are Neuroscience, Cardiovascular Physiology, Pain, and Herbal and Traditional Medicine efficacy.

Dr. Hemmingway 1966-1970

Prof. David Horobin


Prof. Halzvinga 1971

Prof K. Thairu

Prof. Senguipta 1983-1984

Dr. Kung'u Kimani 


Dr. J. M. M. Njoka

Prof. P. G. Kioy 1998-2008

Prof. Nilesh B. Patel


Dr. Fredrick Bukachi